About Department Bio-Technology


Head of the Department  Prof. Varsha Sharma  
Contact details  07582-297160
Email (HOD)  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Departmental IQAC Profile

Criterion 1 :  Curricular Aspects
Criterian 2 :   Teaching-Learning and Evaluation

Criterian 3 :   Research, Innovations, and Extension

Criterian 4 :  Infrastructure and Learning Resources

Criterian 5 :  Student support and Progression

Criterion 6Governance, Leadership and Management
Criterion 7 :  Institutional  Values and Best Practices


About the Department:

The Department of Biotechnology was established in 2001-02 with UGC approval. The Department acquired an independent status in 2009 upon the up gradation of the University to Central University. The Department took a new shape in the year 2013 when the appointed faculty established fully functional research laboratories and sophisticated instruments were installed. The Department is a full-fledged independent unit under the School of Biological Sciences. Currently, the department has two faculty members specialized in Genetic Engineering and Plant Biotechnology, Nanotechnology, Molecular Virology, Bacteriology, Proteomics and Genomics. The Department is well equipped to impart Master and PhD advanced education and training. The Department faculty adopts advance pedagogy techniques such as flip learning and laboratory based teaching.

The Department has published significant number of publications in the leading national and international peer reviewed scientific journals. The Department regularly organizes several hands-on workshops, national and international conferences and special lectures. At the Department of Biotechnology research is being pursued in both basic and applied areas of Biotechnology. The Departmental is inclined towards inter disciplinary research; faculty members in the Department have forged active national & international collaborations.The Departmental faculty have secured funding various funding agencies of UGC, DST, DBT, etc.

During the COVID-19 pandemic the Department quickly adapted to the online teaching mode using various ICT tools, online classroom platforms and other resources to continue the teaching and learning process. This ensured that students did not suffer any academic loss.


The Department of Biotechnology foresee itself to emerge as a Department of national and international repute through its education and research. The Department aspires to make seminal contribution to health and food security of the society. We aim to become the center of innovative and cutting edge research. One of the important objective of the Department is to cultivate distinguished future academicians and scientists. It is our endeavor to become a model of public private partnership.


The Department is developing robust research environment in the areas of plant genetic engineering and physiology; and infectious disease biology. We are striving to secure intramural and extramural funding to foster research in the Department. We pursue to enhance pedagogy to achieve higher objectives of teaching and learning. The focus is to cater to the need of efficient human resource of the country by producing skilled biotechnology professions.


1) Dr. Chandrama Prakash Upadhyaya, M. Sc., Ph. D. (Delhi University)

2) Dr. Rajaneesh Anupam, MS, PhD (June 2013 - June 2022)

Total sanctioned post: 02 (Assistant Professor), Post filled: 01 (Assistant Professor), Vacant Post: 01


Heads of the Department of Biotechnology:

Se. No. Name of the HOD Affiliation Duration
1. Prof. Varsha Sharma Prof. at Dept. of Zoology Aug. 2022 - Till date
2. Prof. J. D. Ahi Prof. at Dept. of Zoology Jan. 2022 - Aug. 2022
3. Prof. P. K. Khare Prof. at Dept. of Botany June 2020 - Dec. 2021
4. Prof. Subodh K. Jain Prof. at Dept of  Zoology April 2014 - May 2020
5. Prof. M. L. Khan Prof. at Dept. of Botany July 2013 - may 2014
6. Prof. S. P. Vyas Prof. at Dept. of Pharmaceutical Sciences Jan. 2012 - June 2013
7. Prof. Smita Banerjee Prof. at Dept. of Zoology Jan. 2009 - Jan. 2012